Ex-lecturer seeks Najib’s help over exam marks incident- theSun

Ex-lecturer seeks Najib’s help over exam marks incident

 

By Tan Yi Liang

 

newsdesk@thesundaily.com

 

PETALING JAYA: A former Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM) lecturer has taken her

fight against her former employer to the highest level by sending an e-mail to Prime

Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak yesterday.

“I was being victimised at USIM because I refused to manipulate marks in order to pass

undergraduates who failed my courses,” Yasmin Norhazleena Bahari Md Noor said in her

letter to Najib.

Yasmin, who was a lecturer in USIM’s Law faculty, said in her letter she had written to the

Ministry of Higher Education to complain “but had received only silence for eight

months”.

“I reported to the Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE) in June 2008 about my

victimisation. The continuous victimisation at USIM and MOHE’s silence to my complaint

forced me to resign in November 2008. The MOHE only replied to my complaint in 

February 2009 (after eight months), in USIM’s favour,” Yasmin, who is seeking a meeting

with Najib, said.

“I have been jobless for the past eight months, against my will. I have been victimised by

USIM and the MOHE. Therefore, I seek Datuk Seri’s assistance so that I could be

reinstated as I was victimised because I refused to manipulate marks.”

Contacted by theSun, Yasmin said she had sent the e-mail through a feedback option on

the prime minister’s website after calling his office earlier. “I called this morning and was

told by an officer who handles complaints to write in to the prime minister’s office

(website) and I left my feedback there,” she said.

Comments are closed.