Refutation of MOHE’s statement to theSun published on 8th July 2009

—– Forwarded Message —-
From: my email address
To: radinumx@mohe.gov.my; minister@mohe.gov.my; rozaid@mohe.gov.my; mkhairi@mohe.gov.my; rohazamshah@mohe.gov.my
Cc: ppm@pmo.gov.my; keeseng@thesundaily.com; tanyiliang@gmail.com; tanyl@thesundaily.com; citizen-nades@thesundaily.com; newsdesk@thesundaily.com
Sent: Thursday, July 9, 2009 7:31:24 AM
Subject: Refutation of MOHE’s statement to theSun published on 8th July 2009

 Yg Berusaha Prof Dr Ir Radin Umar,

 

With respect to the MOHE’s statement issued by your goodself that “The USIM system of assessing and marking exams has clear policies and procedures”, USIM never gave me its clear policies and procedures in assessing and marking exams.  USIM never instructed me on its clear policies and procedures in assessing and marking exams. USIM never explained to me its clear policies and procedures in assessing and marking exams.Based on my experience working at USIM, the Dean of USIM’s Syariah & Law Faculty, Prof Dr Hj Abdul Samat Musa, does not have a moral compass and did not respect my decision to stick to my detailed marking scheme. He said “The marking scheme is merely a guideline”. The Dean of USIM’s Syariah & Law Faculty is also aware that the Mid Semester and Final Exam Questions were easy and contain many rote questions, but he still forced me to manipulate the marks. I even gave exam tips to the undergraduates telling them where they can find the answers for the Final Examination Questions before the Final Examination itself.

 

 

With regard to the MOHE’s statement issued by your goodself  that “USIM had received MS ISO 9001:2000 accreditation from Sirim, which proves USIM has clear and transparent systems for its examinations”, such statement is a statement which begs the question (petitio principii). The presence of Sirim accreditation does not prove that the Dean of USIM’s Syariah & Law Faculty did not determine the grades at his whim and fancy. The presence of Sirim accreditation does not prove that the Dean of USIM’s Syariah & Law Faculty did not order and force lecturers to alter marks if the marks are not to his liking.   The Dean of USIM’s Syariah & Law Faculty forced me to manipulate the marks because he said “If there are too many failures, USIM’s ranking will be affected!”

  

Furthermore for ease of reference and accuracy, the term ‘marks-fixing’ should be changed to ‘manipulation of marks’/’doctoring marks’/’fabricating marks’/’inflating marks’.’marks-fixing’ was practised by Multimedia University/ MMU under Prof Dr Ghauth Jasmon. ‘manipulation of marks’/’doctoring marks’/’fabricating marks’/’inflating marks’ was practised by Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM), to my detriment.

 

Please provide to me USIM’s clear policies and procedures in assessing and marking exams and the MS ISO 9001:2000 accreditation from Sirim which you said “proves USIM has clear and transparent systems for its examinations” to these addresses:

 

a. my real name @yahoo.com and

b. my address  

Thank you.

 

Comments are closed.