REFUTATION OF DISTORTED FACTS IN YOUR LETTER DATED 5 JUNE 2008.

     Prof Dr Hj Abdul Samat Musa

     Dekan

     Fakulti Syariah dan Undang-undang                                                   12 June 2008

     Assalamualaikum Tuan,

      REFUTATION OF DISTORTED FACTS IN YOUR LETTER DATED

       5 JUNE  2008.

  1. Your letter dated 5 June 2008 refers.

 

  1. In your attempt to discredit me and label me as uncooperative and inefficient you had conveniently distorted the truth in your letter dated 5 June 2008.

 

  1. Paragraph 3: “melihat/menyemak semula secara menyeluruh kaedah dan sistem penilaian”

 

     I object to your abovementioned assertion. Your order to me was I must   change the marks to lessen the number of failures because if there were many failures, the rating of the university will be affected.

  1. Paragraph 3: “perbincangan saya dengan puan sebanyak dua kali”.

 

I object to the term perbincangan used. The first meeting on 27/5/2008 was an indoctrination and coercion conducted by yourself. I met you because I received a phone call from the faculty’s Assistant Registrar, Encik Mohd Shahrul who informed me that you wanted me to show you the new marks before submitting it to the Academic Office. I had explained to you at length on 27/5/2008 that manipulation of marks is tantamount to cheating and Islam prohibits such acts. I also explained to you that I cannot manipulate marks because I have integrity and fear Allah Subhanahu waTaala. However you told me that I live in an organization and I must obey you as the Head of the Organisation. You said that I must change the marks to lessen the number of failures because if there are many failures, the rating of the university will be affected. You said to me “Puan kena akur dengan keputusan mesyuarat.”

The rest of the page is intentionally left blank

  1. Paragraph 3: “fakulti memandang berat di atas keengganan puan untuk melakukan demikian dan sikap tiada kerjasama yang ditunjukkan dalam perkara ini.”

 

I object to your assertion that I refused to cooperate because after I was pressured by yourself in your indoctrination session on 27/5/2008 to alter the marks, I went to see Cik Nurhassikin Maulat Mahmud on 28/5/2008 to ask her to open the E-Wadi system in order to alter the marks. Because you forced me to do so, I changed the marks of 2 students to make them pass LAA 2053. Cik Nurhassikin Maulat Mahmud printed the generated results of LAA 2053 and asked me to sign it. I signed the document and gave it to her.

  1. On 30/5/2008, I received a call from your secretary who said that you asked me to alter the marks again despite the fact that I had already altered the marks on 28/5/2008. This shows that you are still not satisfied although I had increased the number of passes to 4 students against my will. I explained to her via email that I had altered the marks on 28/5/2008 against my will and your coercion that I must alter the marks soils my integrity. Your secretary informed me via email that you wanted to see me on 2/6/2008.

 

  1. Second meeting on 2/6/2008

 

In that meeting you said that you do not intend to violate my integrity. You also said that I should not change the marks out of my fear towards you.

You also said that the outcome of my refusal to make more students pass the courses would be the following:

  1. The students cannot graduate.
  2. The students will appeal over my awarded grades.

 

  1. When I said to you that I thought you were a pious and honest person who would not force me to do the despicable act of manipulating marks, you said the meeting was over.

 

  1. On 9th June 2008, I received your letter dated 5 June 2008 accusing me of being disobedient, disrespectful to the faculty’s decision (ordering me to manipulate marks) and uncooperative. You and the faculty also condemned me as a lecturer who is not efficient. Your letter dated 5 June 2008 contradicts your assurances to me on 2/6/2008 that you do not intend to violate my integrity and I should not change the marks out of my fear towards you. Your letter dated 5 June 2008 symbolizes your condemnation of my integrity. You and the faculty had punished me for being honest.

 

  1. Please be informed that your orders that I must manipulate and falsify the marks go against UNESCO’S Recommendations concerning the Status of Higher-Education Teaching Personnel.

 

  1. Kindly be informed.

 

Yours Sincerely

Yasmin Norhazleena Bahari

s.k. 

  1. YBhg  Prof. Dato’ Dr. Abdul Shukor bin Haji Husin (Naib Canselor)
  2. YBhg Prof Dato’ Dr Muhamad Muda (Timbalan Naib Canselor Akademik & Antarabangsa
  3. Puan Nik Salida Suhaila Nik Salleh (Timb. Dekan FSU)
  4. EnMdYunus Abd Aziz (Ketua Program SMFF)
  5. En Muhammad Nizam Awang @ Ali  (Ketua Program SMSU)
  6. Fail Pegawai

 

                              The rest of the page is intentionally left blank

Comments are closed.